The how too’s of going Gluten-Free

Posted by: kiwismomin
24
Sep

The following information I got from “The Gluten-Free Goddess” site, I refer to it as my Gluten-Free bible. Anything I need to know can be found there…… Karina is a wealth of information and when I was first diagnosed with Celiac, her site was the place I found most helpfull. I highly suggest checking it out, you will learn so much if your new to the Gluten-Free way of life :)

Gluten-Free Diet ABCs


Gluten-Free ABCs for Going G-free
The Quick Guide Cheat Sheet
Gluten is the elastic protein in the grains: wheat, rye, barley, durum, einkorn, graham, semolina, bulgur wheat, spelt, farro, kamut, and triticale. Commercial oats also contain gluten due to cross contamination in processing.
Recipes that use flour (bleached white flour, whole wheat, cracked wheat, barley, semolina, spelt, farro, kamut, triticale) or vital wheat gluten are not gluten-free.
Semolina, spelt and whole wheat pasta, including cous cous, are not gluten-free.
Beer, ale and lager are not gluten-free. Brats, meats and sausage cooked in beer are not gluten-free.
Malt vinegar, malt flavorings and barley malt are not gluten-free.
Recipes calling for breadcrumbs, breaded coatings, flour dredging, bread and flat bread, croutons, bagels, croissants, flour tortillas, pizza crust, graham crackers, granola, cereal, wheat germ, wheat berries, cookie crumbs, pie crust, crackers, pretzels, toast, flour tortillas, wraps and lavash, or pita bread are not gluten-free.
The vegan protein sub called seitan is not gluten-free; and some tempeh is not gluten-free (you must check). Flavored tofu may or may not be gluten-free. Injera bread (traditionally made from teff flour) and Asian rice wraps may be gluten-free, but are not necessarily gluten-free (check labels).
Barley enzymes used in malt, natural flavors, and to process some non-dairy beverages, chocolate chips, coffee and dessert syrups (and even some brown rice syrups) are not gluten-free. Always check.

Gluten is sneaky.

Hidden gluten can be found in gravy, broth, bouillon, soy sauce, tamari, marinades, sauces, salad dressings, cured meats, sausage, hot dogs, vegan hot dogs, sausages and burgers, self-basting poultry, flavored and herb cheeses, blue veined (bread mold based) cheeses, spice blends including curry powder, dry mustard, canned and prepared soups, tomato paste, sweeteners, confectioner’s and brown sugar, beverages, flavored coffees, herbal teas (watch for barley), roasted, flavored or spiced nuts, jerky, flavored yogurts and puddings, some chocolate and chocolate chips, cocoa and instant coffee mixes, flavored vinegars, cooking wines, flavored liqueur and liquor, wine coolers, some ice cream and frozen desserts. Always read labels. Call the manufacturer.

What is gluten-free?

Grains, flours, starches and thickeners that are safe for celiac and wheat allergies include:
Corn, grits, polenta and cornmeal Buckwheat, buckwheat cereal, kasha and buckwheat flour Rice- white, brown, risotto, basmati, jasmine, sticky rice, rice cereal Rice flour- white rice, sweet (glutinous) rice and brown rice flour Quinoa, quinoa cereal flakes, and quinoa flour Millet and millet flour Sorghum flour Amaranth and amaranth flour Certified gluten-free oats and oatmeal* see note Coconut flour Teff flour Nut meals and flours- almond, chestnut, pecan, cashew Chick pea, garbanzo, soy (soya) and bean flour Tapioca (whole) and tapioca starch (manioc) Potato starch (used in baking) Potato flour (used sparingly as a thickener) Sweet potato and yam flour Arrowroot starch Cornstarch

Pre-made ingredients that are safe for celiac include:
100% corn tortillas and taco shells Pre-made polenta rolls with a gluten-free label Plain teff wraps made from 100% teff flour Plain 100% brown rice tortilla wraps Unflavored mochi 100% Corn pasta Quinoa and corn pasta Soy pasta (if it states gluten-free) Brown and white rice pasta, rice noodles, rice glass noodles 100% buckwheat soba noodles (check label) Rice paper, rice and tapioca rice paper wraps (check label) 100% nut butters- almond, peanut, cashew, pecan 100% seed butters- sesame tahini, sunflower and hemp seed butter Gluten-free beer and lager made from rice, sorghum or a non-gluten grain.

About baking recipes:
When it comes to converting your favorite baking recipes to gluten-free, a simple one-to-one flour substitution will not yield the same results as your recipe based on wheat flour.
Gluten is a giving, stretchy ingredient that supports rise, structure, texture and kneadablity. It takes more than a single gluten-free flour replacement to make a cake, bread, muffin or cookie recipe work. A combination of gluten-free flours and starches with some extra egg whites or leavening, and xanthan gum added to improve viscosity is necessary for optimum results.
*Note on oats: Read Shelly Case on the gluten-free status of oats at Allergic Living.

Printer-friendly Gluten-Free ABC’s

Essential gluten-free living posts:
How To Go Gluten-Free- In Detail
Gluten-Free Bread Machine Tips
Gluten-Free Cooking + Baking Tips
Baking + Cooking Substitutions for Food Allergies
Gluten-Free On a Budget